skip navigation


Freestyle & Greco-Roman Wrestling

USA Wrestling sponsors Men's Freestyle, Women's Freestyle, and Greco-Roman wrestling. 

Men's Freestyle has a very proud tradition in its 100-plus years of existence. Beginning with the 1904 Olympic Games in St. Louis when the U.S. crowned seven Olympic champions, and most recently at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio with Kyle Snyder, the U.S. has amassed more than 50 Olympic champions.

Since becoming an Olympic sport in 2004 the women's wrestling movement has grown in numbers and support at a breakneck speed. Women's freestyle has earned five Olympic medals in the last four Olympic Games. Sara McMann and Patricia Miranda won silver and bronze in Athens in 2004, respectively; Randi Miller won bronze in Beijing in 2008; Clarissa Chun earned a bronze medal in London in 2012. In 2016, Helen Maroulis made history becoming the first American women to earn an Olympic Gold medal in Rio. The U.S. Women's Freestyle Team has also earned more than a dozen individual world championships, with four won by Patricia Saunders.

Greco-Roman wrestling has been contested at every modern Olympic Games, beginning in 1896 in Athens. Over the last 25 years, the United States Greco-Roman program has improved dramatically and has secured their place among the elite Greco-Roman teams in the world. The U.S. has produced five individual world champions, and were crowned team champions in 2007. The U.S. team also has three Olympic gold medalists: Steve Fraser and Jeff Blatnick in Los Angeles in 1984, and Rulon Gardner in Sydney in 2000.

USA Wrestling promotes the development of youth Freestyle and Greco-Roman through the state club level and a series of regional tournaments for all age groups. Wrestlers who compete in Freestyle and Greco-Roman events throughout the year will accumulate points towards the U.S. Future Olympian Rankings. The Freestyle and Greco-Roman season culminates for kids 14 years of age and younger with the Kids Freestyle & Greco-Roman Nationals in June. For wrestlers 15 and older, the Junior and Cadet Freestyle & Greco-Roman National Champions are held in July. 

You can hover over the Freestyle/Greco-Roman tab in the menu above to find the specific event pages.

For questions, email Pete Isais.

Future Olympian Rankings

USA Wrestling is trying to seek out the best youth athletes in the country! At every qualifying tournament, athletes have the chance to earn points and move up in the rankings in their division. For competitors in the 10U through Junior divisions, there is the opportunity to earn points at select Freestyle, Greco-Roman, and Folkstyle events. Click HERE for more information and the current Future Olympian Rankings.

Triple Crown

USA Wrestling’s Triple Crown is the most renowned award a youth athlete can earn. This award is presented to those athletes 10U through Junior that place first in the national tournament across all three styles: Freestyle, Greco-Roman, and Folkstyle. Click HERE for more information and to find last year’s winners.